Restaurant
Paul Bocuse

The Gourmet Restaurant & L'Abbaye

L'Auberge,
the gourmet restaurant Paul Bocuse in Lyon

Restaurant Paul Bocuse attracts fans of gourmet cooking who long to taste the Holy Grail of French cuisine: this iconic venue was previously known as L’Hôtel du Pont and belonged to François and Françoise Roulier, Georges Bocuse’s in-laws, before he bought it from them.

This family story continued and, in 1956, the young Paul Bocuse joined his father in the kitchen, creating dishes made with local produce and ingredients.
These new dishes were an immediate hit with the restaurant’s regulars and heralded its future success. Diners were delighted to savour traditional sausages in brioche, served alongside gratin dauphinois, made with thinly sliced potatoes in a creamy sauce and seasoned to perfection.

This gourmet restaurant to the north of Lyon welcomes diners every day from:
midday to 1.15pm and from 8pm to 9.15pm.

Our à la carte & set menus

A family restaurant since 1924

Georges, Paul Bocuse's father, began his apprenticeship at the tender age of 12. He worked in Lyon, Versailles, Monte Carlo and Evian before returning to Lyon in 1925. Unable to take over the family business that had previously been sold, he took the helm of L’Hôtel du Pont just a few hundred metres away which belonged to his wife's parents. In 1937, he even became the owner.

In 1954, Paul Bocuse joined his father in the kitchen after completing his initial training and took over the business in 1957, earning his first Michelin star in 1958. His restaurant was awarded a second Michelin star in 1962 and a third in 1965 (which it retained until 2020). It was then, in 1965, that he changed the name to "L’Auberge du Pont de Collonges – Restaurant Paul Bocuse".

The vivacious and festive façade immediately catches visitors' eyes with its omnipresent raspberry and pistachio colours, as well as the gastronomy-inspired motifs, including a pièce montée, a serving platter with a dome cover, strutting roosters and typically an image of Paul Bocuse himself leaning against the railing at one of the windows, a big smile plastered on his face in anticipation of receiving his guests. A mural in the courtyard pays tribute to the chefs who have made a lasting impression on their era, including Antonin Carême, Alain Chapel, André Pic and Raymond Oliver.

After making your way through the entrance hall, you catch a glimpse of the restaurant’s beating heart: the kitchens. The lighting has been changed here, as if to offer a better view of every minute movement of the chefs’ hands. On the left, the Fernand Point lounge, created in honour of the chef who trained Paul Bocuse, provides a panoramic view of the outdoor mural, like a tribute to the past. On the first floor, several private lounges are the perfect setting for professional and personal conversations.

As you enter the restaurant, you can’t miss the little mechanical organ which plays music on occasion, such as when birthdays are celebrated here. Previously boasting a traditional feel, decorated in shades of cream and pink reminiscent of stunning country houses, the restaurant has been renovated for a lighter, brighter feel. L’Auberge is Paul Bocuse’s flagship restaurant and the epicentre of French cuisine.  

Black truffle soup VGE (Valéry Giscard d'Estaing)

Paul Bocuse created this dish for the Élysée Palace to coincide with receiving the title of Knight of the Legion of Honour from President Valéry Giscard d’Estaing on 25 February 1975. Paul Bocuse explained that he had been inspired by two recipes: a chicken and beef soup flavoured with grated truffles that he had tasted with farmers in the Ardèche region, and a truffle wrapped in pastry like a chicken pie which Paul Haeberlin had served him in Alsace.

Sea bass en croûte with choron sauce

The pastry shell ensures that the sea bass loses none of its delicate texture, exquisite taste and aroma. This is one of Paul Bocuse's showstoppers

Red mullet and crispy potato scales

A highly refined dish that calls for painstaking preparation.

Bresse Chicken in a pig’s bladder
à la Mère Fillioux

This dish represents Paul Bocuse's passing tribute to "La Mère Brazier" and comprises a chicken with truffles embedded beneath the skin and cooked in a pig's bladder inflated like a football. The dish is carved at the table to release a delicious bouquet of aromas. It is served in two steps, firstly the chicken breasts and then the legs (or inversely) so that the entire dish can be eaten hot.

Fernand Point Normandy coast sole fillets. A new recipe, created in 2019

Paul Bocuse created this dish in homage to the great classic by Fernand Point. The fillet is cooked to perfection and laid on a bed of fresh tagliatelle, chopped tomatoes and mushrooms cooked in white wine, all of which dressed with a hollandaise sauce and finished under a salamander grill for a grilled zabaglione effect.

Lobster and zander quenelles,
Champagne sauce

With its lighter texture and less compact shape, the famous quenelle at Restaurant Paul Bocuse is all the more technically challenging. Although it was previously cooked in salt water, it is now steamed for a truly unique result which showcases the recipe’s mushrooms and the subtle lobster reduction. The accompanying iconic Champagne sauce is more intensely reduced.

“Antonin Carême”
wild hare à la royale 

As the standard-bearer of French cuisine, this impressive and traditional dish needs no introduction. Our chefs work throughout the height of the truffle season to preserve the essence of this stunning dish.

Les Monts d’Or honey

Complex, subtle and intensely floral, this dessert reflects the natural abundance of Les Monts d’Or. Whipped cream with orange blossom and vanilla, candied orange and thyme, wildflower honey caramel: this majestic dessert is powerful and flavourful.

Samana

For fans of dark chocolate. Featuring a reconstructed shortbread, a creamy texture and chocolate ganache, this chocolatey sweet treat includes chocolate caramel and a light mousse. Grand cru Samana chocolate, with 70% cocoa content from the Dominican Republic, is combined with smoked fleur de sel to create this incredible dessert with its powerful yet subtle flavours.

Citrus shades

Combining textures and temperatures, orange reigns supreme in this cocktail of citrus fruits, featuring yuzu, tangerine and grapefruit. Yuzu adds a bitterness and an acidity, while the fresh, lemony taste of verbena berry accentuates the explosive flavours of this iconic dessert. 

Lounge in Restaurant Paul Bocuse
Lounge in Restaurant Paul Bocuse
Lounge for seminars in Restaurant Paul Bocuse

Restaurant
Paul Bocuse

Le Restaurant Gastronomique & L'Abbaye

L'Auberge,
le restaurant gastronomique Paul Bocuse, à Lyon

Le Restaurant Paul Bocuse attire tous les gourmets désireux de goûter au Saint-Graal de la gastronomie : ce lieu mythique s’appelait autrefois l’Hôtel du Pont et appartenait à François et Françoise Roulier, les beaux-parents de Georges Bocuse avant d’être racheté par ce dernier.

Une aventure familiale qui se poursuit en 1956, lorsque le jeune Paul Bocuse vient seconder son père et proposer une cuisine élaborée à partir des ressources du terroir.
Celles-ci font le bonheur des habitués et portent les germes de son succès futur. Les saucissons briochés, le gratin dauphinois avec ses pommes de terre coupées très fines, crémées et poivrées juste comme il faut, régalent les papilles des clients.

Votre restaurant gastronomique au nord de Lyon vous accueille tous les jours de :
12h00 à 13h15 et de 20h00 à 21h15.

Nos cartes & menus

Maison de famille depuis 1924

Georges, le père de Paul Bocuse, a fait son apprentissage dès l’âge de 12 ans. Il est passé par Lyon, Versailles, Monte Carlo, Evian et revient à Lyon en 1925 où, faute de pouvoir reprendre l’affaire familiale qui a été vendue, se met à la tête de celle de ses beaux-parents, à quelques centaines de mètres, l’Hôtel du Pont. En 1937, il en devient même propriétaire. 

En 1954, Paul Bocuse, après son parcours formateur, rejoint son père, se met aux commandes de la maison dès 1957 et  reçoit la 1ère étoile au Guide Michelin dès 1958. En 1962, le restaurant accroche la 2ème étoile et en 1965 la 3ème qu’il conservera jusqu’en 2020. C’est à ce moment qu’il peut donner au lieu son nom,  « L’Auberge du Pont de Collonges – Restaurant Paul Bocuse ».

Dès l’arrivée, la façade excite l’œil, tonique et festive avec ses couleurs framboise et pistache omniprésentes et ses ornements clin d’œil à la gastronomie. Ici, une pièce montée, là une cloche de service, quelques coqs fiers et bien sûr, à l’une des fenêtres, le Chef Paul Bocuse lui-même, accoudé à la balustrade, souriant et prêt à recevoir ses invités. Dans la cour, une fresque rend hommage aux cuisiniers qui ont marqué leur temps, d’Antonin Carême à Alain Chapel, en passant par André Pic ou Raymond Oliver.

Passé l’entrée, on commence à apercevoir le cœur battant de la maison, les cuisines. L’éclairage a été modifié comme pour mieux percevoir chaque battement de poignet. A gauche, le salon Fernand Point créé en hommage au Chef qui a formé Paul Bocuse offre une vue panoramique sur la fresque extérieure, tel un hommage au passé. Au 1er étage, les multiples salons privés abritent tant les conversations au sommet que celles des plus privées.

En entrant dans le restaurant, impossible de manquer le petit limonaire qui résonne parfois, si un anniversaire est célébré dans la salle par exemple. L’atmosphère autrefois classique, dans des tons crème et vieux rose qui rappelaient les grandes maisons bourgeoises de province, a été intégralement revisitée pour plus de clarté et de légèreté. L’Auberge est sans aucun doute le vaisseau amiral de Paul Bocuse, chaudron fabuleux de la gastronomie française. 

Soupe aux truffes noires VGE Valéry Giscard d’Estaing

Un plat créé pour le Palais de l’Elysée, à l’occasion de la remise du titre de Chevalier de la Légion d’Honneur à Paul Bocuse par le Président Valéry Giscard d’Estaing, le 25 février 1975. Paul Bocuse explique s’être inspiré de deux recettes, une soupe au poulet et au bœuf agrémentée d’une râpée de truffes qu’il avait dégustée chez des paysans ardéchois et une truffe recouverte d’un feuilletage, à la manière d’un « chicken pie » que lui avait servi Paul Haeberlin en Alsace.

Loup en croûte feuilletée, sauce Choron

Grâce à sa préparation en croûte, le loup conserve ici toute sa finesse, son goût exquis et parfumé. Un plat emblématique de Paul Bocuse.

Rouget barbet en écailles de pommes de terre croustillantes

Un mets d’une grande finesse qui exige un montage particulièrement minutieux.

La Volaille de Bresse en vessie « Mère Fillioux »

Hommage au passage de Paul Bocuse chez « La Mère Brazier », une volaille truffée sous la peau et cuite dans une vessie de boeuf. Découpée à table, elle révèle alors une collection de parfums délicieux. Le service s’effectue en deux temps, tout d’abord avec les suprêmes puis les cuisses (ou inversement) afin que tout le plat soit dégusté chaud.

Filets de sole des côtes normandes Fernand Point Nouvelle création en 2019

Un classique de Fernand Point à qui Paul Bocuse rend hommage ici. Le filet est juste cuit, et enveloppé, d'une fine pâte fraîche, le tout nappé d’une sauce hollandaise puis passé à la salamandre pour lui donner cet aspect de sabayon gratiné.

Quenelle de homard sauce champagne

La célèbre quenelle de chez Paul Bocuse reste toujours aussi technique. Autrefois cuite à l’eau salée, c’est aujourd’hui en cuisson vapeur qu’elle confère aux multiples champignons et à la subtile réduction de homard, toute sa singularité. Quant à l’emblématique sauce Champagne, elle s’offre une réduction plus poussée.

Le lièvre à la royale « Antonin Carême » 

Le porte-drapeau de la gastronomie française. Ce plat de tradition n’a quasiment besoin d’aucun artifice pour révéler toute sa splendeur. En plein cœur de la saison de la truffe, les chefs ont tout d’abord veillé à conserver à leur façon, tout l’ADN de ce plat merveilleux.

Le miel des monts d’Or

Complexe, subtil et très floral, il y a dans ce dessert la richesse que nous offre la nature dans les monts d’Or. Chantilly fleur d’oranger et vanille, confit à l’orange et au thym, caramel au miel toutes fleurs, c’est tout en puissance et en saveurs que ce dessert révèle sa grandeur.

Samana

Pour les grands amateurs du trésor noir. Sablé reconstitué, crémeux, ganache, cette gourmandise sucrée est une déclinaison de chocolats révélant un caramel coulant au chocolat et une mousse légère. Le Samana 70%, grand cru de République Dominicaine, associé à la fleur de sel fumée révèlera toute la grandeur de ce dessert puissant et subtil.

Nuances d’agrumes

Dans un jeu de textures et de températures, c’est un cocktail d’agrumes autour du yuzu, de la mandarine et du pamplemousse où l’orange est reine. Si le yuzu amène l’amertume et l’acidité, la baie de verveine au gout très frais et citronné accentue l’explosivité de saveurs d’un dessert d’ores et déjà incontournable.  

Salon Fernand Point
Salon Raymonde Bocuse 
Salon Paul Bocuse